top of page
Writer's pictureDes Marie

Do People Read Blogs Anymore?

Updated: Sep 15, 2021

At the end of last year, I was feeling itchy to clean up the blog a bit. I technically wanted a complete makeover but after a few hours of perusing the few Free templates WordPress gives you (there used to be SO many more free templates), I finally gave up on a new one and just redesigned the one I was already using.


One of the little adjustments I needed to make was to go back, post by post, and give them each a Featured Image. In doing so, I pretty much spent a big portion of my day reminiscing all my random posts in the last couple years.


I know I’ve mentioned this before–plenty of times–but whether people ever read them or not, I love the concept of blogging. It’s been my therapy practice of choice. Whether it’s been personal, emotion-dump posts or about things I’m passionate about, such as books, writing, coffee, etc., writing has always been the only way to take the word-vomit gibberish that is my thoughts and give them some form–any form–of cohesive sanity and expression.


So I’ve written. Whether anyone ever read them or not. I wrote.

That day, as I went through old posts, I started to get ideas for new posts that I can do, now that I had a shiny looking blog. That’s when the question hit me.

Do People Read Blogs Anymore?

I know that Lifestyle blogs, Fashion blogs, Food blogs, and especially those Mommy blogs are still relevant and somehow, make money.


Side note: It’s still a crazy concept for me; people making a living writing blogs.


In the end, I rarely hear or know of people who spend time reading, following, looking to blogs for information. I feel as though video (specifically YouTube) has become the go-to source for all information now a days. I personally use it for everything. Even if I’m needing step by step instructions or reviews, I tend to gravitate toward watching something than reading a post.


So, as I sit here, getting excited to resurrect the blog, I have to wonder, “Does anyone read blogs anymore?”

pexels-photo-377909
“But, Des, you just mentioned you’ve never done it for the views.”

Yes, I did say that Random Citizen and I meant it. I’d say, the inquiry still holds merit. At the end of the day, when we share a part of ourselves, it’s human nature to hope it reaches someone out there. As creative people especially, we crave that connection. We take a piece of ourselves and hand it to the world. Then, we scurry like a shy toddler, behind the couch, peeking around the corner hoping for recognition, approval, appreciation.


I wish I were one of those people who could captivate an audience, unscripted. I’d love to be able to coherently discuss my thoughts, opinions, passions in person but alas, that is not my inherited trait. Oh, I’m passionate in person and can go off on a topic, discussing it with conviction and authority but with that comes LONG-winded rambles leading to clumsy conclusions and pockets of awkwardness.


Sitting down, pen in hand/keyboard at my fingertips, with time to force my thoughts to slow down, that way lets me edit and produce a far less run around of words–still long-winded cause that’s just my nature. Only then can I walk away feeling better about how I expressed what I felt/thought. Most in-person interactions, I walk away frustrated with my inability to truly express what I meant.


I’ve written since childhood and will continue in some form or another till my last breath; I’m certain of this. It’s an extended mouthpiece, essential to my sanity.


My curiosity still stands. Will blogs always be a thing as we continue to forge new experiences online? Does anyone even read blogs anymore?


Tune in next week…just kidding. That just felt like the appropriate follow-up.

*snickers by herself*

*finds herself hilarious*


Do you follow blogs or just stumble upon them based on specific google searches?

hugs-des

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page