top of page
Writer's pictureDes Marie

When Writing, Does Your Reading Suffer?


Funny-Work-Ecards-Wednesday-8

Tee hee…I saw that and couldn’t resist.

Good afternoon, beautiful people! Happy Wednesday! Hope you’re all having a productive week and that each day ends with laughter and cuddles.

As some of you know, I’m back at it with the writing. Like Daniel and the white vans. Sorry, lame joke. I’ve got coffee running through my veins and I’m feeling good so, apologies on any hyper-delirious ramblings.

Writers? Here’s a question for you.

When writing, does your reading life suffer?


modefied A Writers Life

Reading, just as much as writing, is my happy place. My Home & Solace. I have writer friends who can not read at all now that they’re writing full time. Other writers, I’ve heard, don’t read while they’re drafting as a way to preserve the integrity of their own story. They don’t want to accidentally get inspired by someone else’s work and subconsciously incorporate those ideas into their story. Then, you have others who just give themselves days off to catch up on some leisure reading before returning to the writing grind.

When I go through my writing lulls, it’s really hard not to give into reading time that then turn into DAYS of just devouring books and leaving my poor characters I’m writing behind.

I’m the type of person who just can’t give up reading while I’m in the writing cave. I need it. It’s my mind’s anxiety medication. It helps me shut down from the world and find my happy place. I struggle between being an extremist. I’ve mentioned this before. I’m all white or black. Definitely not something that works to my benefit.

Now that I’m back to writing, I’m missing out on the already ever-growing TBR pile of books I have and want to get. Each new, promoted release taunts me. It calls to me to cuddle in bed, turn down the lights, fluff my pillows and spend the next 5-8 hours reading in one sitting. Sleep’s for the weak. *grins brightly* 


reading is my escape watercolor modefied

But, alas, I love my books too. I want to see them come to life. I want to share them with you all one day in the–preferably–near future. Being back in the writing cave schedule, I figure I can give myself the occasional day off so I can dive into a book once a week or bi-weekly. To some, that seems like a lot but I used to read one book practically every night. My nocturnal brain is totally okay with staying up till 3 or 4 in the morning. Now, instead of reading those nights, I’m back to writing and getting my ‘1000 Words For G’ word count done.

Last night was a good night. I had a busy CRW day with Melody and then spent the evening writing.


Screenshot 2016-05-11 16.32.18

That’s my Wednesday update, folks! I’m off to my “day” job soon but wanted to chat with you all on the booknerd woes of this writer. Let me know in the comments below what kind of Writer/Reader are you?

When Writing, Does Your Reading Life Suffer? 

Is it by choice or need? 

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page