top of page
Writer's pictureDes Marie

10 Tips For A Productive Life by A Beautiful Mess

a blog post by Emma from A Beautiful Mess blog!

I came across this thanks to my Bloglovin emails that connect me with some awesome bloggers. Well, here I am, attempting to finally shake off the after-New-Years “influenza” (not really, I’m exaggerating) that attacked my body and a bunch of others bodies as well. It really threw off my “Take Charge & Attack for Change New Years Resolutions”. The only thing on my list I have tackled is the reading one. I have been reading more. My Goodreads 2014 Goal chart says I’m two books ahead of schedule. Sweetness.

Last night I made a to-do list. I had a sudden motivation and I wanted to gain control of my life again.

Then…”Wha-la!” I came across this blog post. Took notes and feel inspired to get organized with all my goals. It sparked me so much, I wanted to share with you all! Hopefully it helps you as I feel it has helped me. Enjoy *wink*

10 TIPS FOR A PRODUCTIVE LIFE



Tips for being prodcutive

At first I was going to call this article, “10 Tips for a Productive Work Day.” But the more I thought about it the more I felt like productivity isn’t just about work. I like having a productive weekend or night at home too. (But, of course, I love a good vacation day spent doing NOTHING as well!) I would really like to have a productive life, but it’s sometimes a bit of a struggle. Here are ten tips that help me stay on track.

1. Make a to-do list. I am absolutely lost without a to-do list! I (try) to write out a list every morning just before I begin the day. I’ve also found that if I’m feeling overly anxious about a big project at work or looming deadline I sometimes make my to-do list the night before. This makes me feel like I’m getting a jump start on the day.

2. Give yourself small rewards for completing big tasks. I don’t know about you, but I am all about rewards. It might be something as little as, “Once I finish getting through all my emails I’ll go make my afternoon cup of coffee.” Little rewards don’t have to be about money or things, get creative and find small ways to motivate yourself to hustle. 🙂

3. Find ways to break up your workday (or night). I feel like I have a pretty decent attention span, but I’m not super human or anything. It’s good to break up tasks that take a long time or that are physically demanding in any way. For example, let’s say you’re a photographer and you have about five hours of editing to do one night. Work for three hours then give yourself a snack or paint your nails. Then finish up that work. Also, if you sit a lot in order to work make sure to build in a few stretch breaks into your day. You’ll feel better!

4. Avoid addictive time wasting activities. I recently confessed my love for Cany Crush Saga. I’m no stranger to time wasting activities. Facebook can be a trap. Smartphone or internet games can also get super addictive. Avoid these when you’re trying to get something done. Check your FB during the last five minutes of your work day (maybe as your reward?). Also set limits for mini “time wasting” sessions. It’s ok to need a mental break, but don’t get sucked in. For example, next time you go to check Instagram while you’re suppose to be working look at the clock first. Give yourself only 2-3 to scroll through your feed then stop.

5. Get as much done as early in the day as you can. It’s a ripple effect thing. Personally, I’m sort of morning, sort of not a morning person. You know? I have a hard time getting up in the morning! But I’ve noticed that when I do get up and get rolling on my to-do list for the day I already feel so accomplished by nine or ten in the morning that I feel confident about the rest of the day. Start your day with a bang! The momentum will keep you rolling. Then you have the evening hours to relax and unwind.

________________________________________________________________________

For the last five tips (that are all really great), go on and check out the rest at their website. Here’s the link!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page