top of page
Writer's pictureDes Marie

If We Were Having Coffee - May 2022


Photo by Renate Vanaga on Unsplash

It's been a while since I've posted one of these but this used to be one of my favorite features. This feature was inspired by another blogger from a few years ago. My previous blog was where I used to share them and figured it was about time to bring this over to the new blog.


As the title says, if we were having coffee, these are some of the things I'd share with you over a cozy, warm cup of coffee. Perhaps a vanilla latte with cinnamon sprinkled on top. What are you having?


Across the Country Penpals

One of my closest friends who I grew up with, we used to send each other handwritten letters. We'd use parchment paper, quill pens, and ink. We'd even seal them with wax and our monogram seals. There was something so endearing about reverting back to the old form of letter writing and we'd even given ourselves Regency-era pen names.


Now, it's been a few years since we used to write those...until recently. She and I decided to take up sending each other handwritten letters again. We've upgraded the experience by adding vintage junk journaling collages to the paper and envelopes. It's a therapeutic and creative release that we've been enjoying. We live on literally opposite sides of the country and even though we still stay in contact via phone and text messages, we save a little for our letters, which bring us such joy to finally receive in the mail.

Source: Author

AuthorTube on YouTube

Now that I've been more consistent with writing my manuscript, I've been tuning into more live streams on YouTube hosted by the AuthorTube community. It's been a huge motivator to hop on the streams, discuss our progress in the chat, and connect overall with the community.


What is AuthorTube you might ask?


A group of writers, authors, and aspiring authors who have YouTube channels where they host writing sprints and usually have writer content on their channels as well. They've banned together for many different live shows and support the community of writers here on YouTube.


If you're ever wanting some motivation to get productive, you can tune in to either a live stream or replay. Some of my favorites that I visit frequently are, The Courtney Project, Author JC Carpenter, Kate Cavanaugh Writes, and more which you could find daily on Devin Cutting's channel where he sets up playlists of all the daily live sprints. Definitely worth checking out.

Source: Author watching Livestream

Work in Progress -- Act 2

Last, we'd probably discuss what I'm working on. I've recently posted a Writer's Update for April but since then we've made some good progress. Currently, I'm working on my contemporary romance with a suspenseful subplot. I just broke into Act 2 and this is where things are going to start picking up with the drama.


I'm at that point in the story where it's time to up the suspense elements. This is the part that's new to me and I have to say, I'm a little nervous because I want to create a well-rounded story with all the juicy elements that'll have the reader wondering who can they trust. I need to make some bold choices here and play and it is only the first draft. This is the time to experiment and get things right or wrong. I need to take a chance and be fearless. I have trustworthy authors and writers with who I can share my work with who will give me honest feedback. So, all that's left is to just dive in and write.


My Hopes for May

As it is just the beginning of the month, I have some things I'd like to see accomplished by the end of it. First off, my brother is still in the hospital and I hope he can be released before the end of this month. He's going to need some heavy physical rehabilitation after being bedridden for so long but we're trying to keep him in high spirits.


In regards to my manuscript, I'd really like to enter the Act 3 phase of the story by month's end. I've been diligent with this novel and really working to get this first draft finished. I believe it's going to be a good story and who knows what the future may hold. There's still a long way to go.


And that wraps up this month's feature: If We Were Having Coffee. Thank you so much for coming along and having a cup of coffee or tea with me. I hope to bring these back on a monthly basis again.


What projects are you currently working on?


 

Got a Ko-Fi page? Let’s connect! Feel free to check my page out and if you’re interested in giving me a follow, that would be awesome. I’d love to check out your page as well.


For those feeling generous and interested in supporting me by buying me a coffee on Ko-Fi, that would literally make my day. Click the link:








Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page