top of page
Writer's pictureDes Marie

The Culture of Coffee

Updated: Sep 15, 2021


I love coffee; I love the culture of coffee more!

It’s interesting because growing up in South Florida I only knew the Cuban coffee culture; little street windows where you crowd up with others trying to catch the ladies' attention so you can place your quick order.


“Un Cortadito” = an espresso-sized version of “Cafe con Leche” -kind of like a Latte.

“Cafe Con Leche” = A stronger, more condensed version of your usual coffee shop Latte. Usually brands of espresso such as Pilon or Bustelo are used.

Then theres the ever universal “un Espresso” with a Hispanic twist; a small silver cup you mix sugar and espresso in. Yum. It’s a shot of strong Cuban Espresso but as the crema pours into the small silver cup, sugar is added and mixed to create a thick, sweet, creamy espresso “foam”.


That's really all I knew of coffee until my adolescent years when my “cousin” introduced me to a certain popular coffee chain. I bought into every first-timers choice…a blended frozen coffee with caramel syrup, whipped cream and lots of caramel drizzled on top. At that time I felt that was a trendy grown-up choice.

I was 13 years old.

The fact that it had coffee in it was no stranger to me due to the years of coffee I already had consumed since an earlier age. It's the Hispanic way. You’re sipping coffee through your bottle at an early age

.

As the years passed, I grew up in my drink choices. Years later I actually worked at a coffee joint; the well-known one. I loved writing and when laptops and blogs stepped into the scene, I began to grow an appreciation for the atmosphere of a coffee shop.


Eventually, life found me leaving the city I grew up in, and Eureka! I fell in love! Let us set the scene, shall we?


The stage is black, the curtains raised. A warm light cues in from a brick fireplace. The lights go up and viola! The coziest, warm, wonder-filled, artistic encouraging place of your dreams…ok, well my dreams.


I hadnt been that wonderstruck since Disney World!

It was in an authentic Coffee House, Cafe, Coffee Shop; what you will.

All I ever knew were the Hispanic joints and the occasional Starbucks that are very much commercialized and modernly decorated to suit this city life here.


I recalled a few times, perhaps seeing such things in movies & television but never dreamed they were real & even better; in certain cities, there were many of them. Yes, I'm being melodramatic but hey; its what was going on inside. Just trying to give ya’ll a good visualization here.


As I began to explore & experience this new culture, it dawned on me that it was in fact that…a culture.

You had the coffee connoisseurs who could smell the beans & know from what country they were grown or the ones who could sip plain black brewed coffee as if it were a wine tasting & describe all the notes to it, such as earthy, smokey, nutty, etc. I was also introduced to those early risers who own their own coffee grinder and french press. Before working up north at a coffee shop, these terms & items were completely foreign to me.


I was fascinated with coffee. I loved coffee. I had a different palette than those connoisseurs which my Hispanic taste buds & Cuban coffee culture are to blame but all the same, I “needed” it in my life…daily!


So there's the “love” of coffee but after sitting & lounging in several coffee shops, coming back to South Florida created a coffee-bean-shaped hole in my lil’ “corazon”. Where were my warm, brick & wood, nook filled cozy plush couch coffeehouses?


NOWHERE! Nowhere to be found.

I missed sitting at a coffee shop with a book in hand, my ” for here” mug filled with yummy rich coffee dressed on top with some skillful latte art. I missed coming in from the cold of a beautifully rustic Fall day to sit in a nook with my laptop because the inspiration to write was flooding my mind. I had a love affair with this new culture of coffee.


Some may think Im such a snob right now or that I’m so “hipster”. Trust me, if you saw me or knew me, I'm neither.

I'm just a girl who loves coffee…and the culture of coffee more!


In a recent development, our city has gained one authentic northern-looking coffee shop. One is something at least. For years now I have thought, “If only I had lots of money & an awesome business-minded investor & partner, I would definitely open up my own coffeehouse”.


Till then, I continue to search the city for more & share this love with others.

It truly is the little things in life…

Well, I take my happy sigh & bid you all good night.

Till the next random thought

:: takes a bow. Walks off…stage left…

wait…

wrong side….stage right…curtsies center stage, nervous laughter, walks off ::

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page