top of page
Writer's pictureDes Marie

The Lighthouse Award! Eep!

What? What in the world? How did that happen? 


the-lighthouse-award

courtesy of: goodtimestories.wordpress.com blog award


Well, apparently, this person–Coach Muller.

(http://goodtimestories.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/the-lighthouse-award-2/) created this WordPress award called, “The Lighthouse Award”, created for:

“a blog that brings light to a dark world”

The lovely, fellow booknerd, Lizzy from http://mylittlebookblog.wordpress.com/2014/03/09/the-lighthouse-award/ (definitely check out her bookish blog sometime) nominated me for this award.

What? *sheepish smile*

I didn’t even know there were wordpress awards! Here I was, having a sick-in-bed two days and I stumble across an email notification of a comment left on my blog. I haven’t checked it in a few days–apologies for the recent neglect–and I see this!

This was truly one of the sweetest things I’ve ever received and it most definitely perked me right up!

You know, you come onto the web and decide to create a blog (whether it be WordPress, Blogger, etc), most of the times because you have something to say and the only means to truly express it, seems to be through writing. It adds a little something when you are able to write them and then share them with whoever is willing to read it. As a resident introvert, I found blogging liberating and necessary. I needed to find ways to not bottle up all my thoughts and emotions but share them (healthy boundaries, of course). There’s a safety net with blogging. You can release those thoughts, put them out there for the world to see and then, you can scurry away again as if nothing happened. Then you get those small cherished, surprising moments where someone out there sees it, appreciates it, agreed with it, or even challenges you by disagreeing with it, and something in you lights up. No, you’re not alone in your thoughts. Yes, perhaps writing those random thoughts deposited something positive into someone’s day, even if in it’s smallest measure.

Thank you Lizzy of “My Little Book Blog”, for this nomination. It encouraged me to continue rambling about things I love and am doing (books, writing and other shenanigans)! I enjoy your blog as well! 

So this “The Lighthouse Award”, here’s how this goes:

The Rules

  1. Display the Award certificate on your blog.

  2. Write a post and link back to the blogger that nominated you.

  3. Inform your nominees of their award nominations

  4. Share three ways that you like to help other people.

  5. There is no limit to the number of people that you can nominate.

  6.  HAVE FUN!!!

Three Ways I’d Like To Help Others

  1. As someone who tends to have difficulty expressing herself verbally, it says a lot–to me–when someone truly listens, eye contact and all. Because of this, I want to be able to do that for others. I aim to be (and hope I am) a good listener. When someone needs a shoulder to vent, cry on, laugh with, I like to be there for my friends, put everything down and really hear them out. Even if that’s all they need–no counsel, advice to follow. I have found this scenario even with strangers or acquaintances who just seem to start gushing to you about their day or problems. I try to be kind and listen. You never know what that can do for someone, even if you never see them again.

  2. Bookish Talk! My blog transitioned almost a year ago towards books and writing. My love for reading was reawakened and my writing love found a focused avenue. It’s meant so much to me–this bookish journey–and what I have fallen in love with as well has been the Community! I love the Book Community (readers and writer’s alike). I have loved chatting and meeting some of them. I would like to stay consistent and continue pursuing that on this blog. I hope by building my bookish community, others may find their way to it as well.

  3. My friends (my small, close knit group) who go out of their way to show their love–even in small (not small to me) ways–I want to work harder at being that for them. I tend to go into my writing hole (which they totally understand) but I don’t want that be an excuse to lose touch in that important and special way. A visit with a cup of coffee to their place, a thank you card–you know, the little things. I want to go out of my way–as they do–and show them love and appreciation more often. They deserve it!

I Would Like To Nominate!

(so you know, everyone agrees that if you are not interested in participating in the wordpress award, that’s totally cool! I just wanted to show my appreciation for your blogs and let you know that I enjoy reading them! So we can just leave it at that, if you’d like. *wink*)

Hey Sarah, from Behind on Books! -You’re awesome! Thanks for all your bookish posts and your comments!


Ellie from Book Revels-a booknerd with a sweet bookish blog-Congrats on being YABC’s new addition (months late news, I know) 🙂


book revels logo

and for now…last but not least *drum roll*

Catherine, Caffeinated!  -The title alone had me gravitating to see what her blog was about (coffee addict that I am). I appreciate her blog posts that are full of extremely helpful tips, resources, solutions–all related to writing–but it’s the way she presents them. She’s very real, down to earth and funny. I relate to her, and what she writes about.

Thank you again Lizzy for passing the knowledge of this award around. Thanks to everyone who stumbles upon my little blog here and takes the time to take a peek at my ramblings.

Happy blogging everyone!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page