top of page
Writer's pictureDes Marie

Writing, Reading & Hey, I Missed You Guys!


20131008_143342

Cute bookend from my job (bookstore)



I MISSED YOU BOOKISH FOLKS!

I attempted starting this blog an hour ago before I had coffee in my system. Yea, that was not smart. I sat in front of the computer for, I don’t even know the length of time, starring, not moving, not thinking. My brain was OFF. Then I snapped back into reality and realized, “Uh, Des, you need coffee…NOW!”

Anyway, enough of that. How are y’all? What’s new? What have I missed? I feel as though it’s A LOT!

So as you all may know, I started working at a bookstore! (check out my documented adventures at www.booknerdinabookstore.wordpress.com )

This is my second week. I have been training. After a season of working on my butt at different desks, freelancing, office work and writing my book and blogs, this whole on my feet and keeping busy back and forth from bookstore to cafe is a bit of a change for my body. It screams at me every night and oh, don’t even get me started on the mean vulgar profanities it attacks me with during those 7am wake up calls. All in all, though my body is mad at me (she’ll be fine and get over it soon. It’s good for her) my mind and my heart are happy and alive. Those who I’ve shared about my writing ventures have then understood and said,

“then working at a bookstore is perfect for you”.

Exactly!

At my age and with my past work experience in the corporate world, I get the perplexed look of,

“Why are you choosing to work retail for much less pay than before?”

This is was what I needed. I wanted to back away from full-time corporate world and get a part-time which gives me time for writing and reading, ect. Besides, I have never liked corporate 9-5, it drives me insane and smoke spouts from my nose on the verge to release fire. It’s not pretty.

My other passion (which I havent given up on completely) Acting; is something that needs to be placed on hold again. It’s not the right time. I believe my delving back into it and going to auditions, and getting training was not in vain, at all. It was necessary to re-enter with new understanding and perspectives. I’m more knowledgeable of the business so when the time is right, and I decide to pursue it again, I’m better prepared. I wouldn’t have changed a thing about the last 6 months of pursuing acting.

Now, another love that was always there but never realized has awaken and brought me home. It’s funny, a friend I haven’t seen in quite some time came over and surprised me at work. I was on break and we did a quick catch-up. I mentioned again how I never saw this whole writing a book thing coming. She responded,

“but you’ve always been a writer. You’ve always been writing things for as long as I’ve known you”

(which has been many years) That made my heart feel light and smile inside. Others have told me the same thing and have recognized a part of me, I never realized myself because I have allowed insecurities to lie and stray me away from admitting it.

Right now, I’m at a time in my life where many things have changed, shifted and I have the support of my amazing family which allows me to back away from needing to do the ‘corporate world for financial provision’ thing, get a part time and focus on bringing this dream to life.

I’ve been exhausted and nursing my exhausted body these last two weeks that unfortunately, my books and writing have taken a back seat which makes my heart sad. I continue to remind myself that, the whole point of this new sporadic busyness (retail means random, no set scheduling) is taking care of one; A NEW FREAKIN LAPTOP, and some other necessities that will free my mind and give me some peace. Once those things are taken care of, I can really get back to focusing on finishing this first draft.

The other exciting opportunities are meeting authors, getting connected to the writing community and readers in my city, as well as crazy things like, my boss wanting me to research on how we can get a Teen Book Festival going for our city. This is amazing, crazy, big, “omylanta how am I going to figure this out” and so cool to think I may be apart of something that I passionately believe and am excited for. I want to awaken the YA lovers of South Florida who think they’re alone or don’t know they’re a YA lover yet *wink*


20131008_135842

20131008_190020(0)

Yesterday, the bookstore had a MG (middle grade) author, Tyler Whitesides who wrote the “Janitors” series for an author book signing. Tons and tons of kids came with bright, happy faces, books in hand, ecstatic to have him sign it. It was so cute. That made me excited, seeing all these young kids, excited about reading! I want to see the same with the Young Adults in our city.

Before the signing at night, in the afternoon a school bus of seniors (high school) came with their English teacher to sit and have class at the bookstore. Very cool. I went and did a survey about which of them like YA. I believe some were “too cool for school” for YA…or so they think they are as they boasted about reading Hemingway. I mentioned YA and one young man said,

“Ugh no I don’t like corny vampires and werewolf stories.”

I chuckled because his answer did not surprise me. Not to bring down my fellow vampire and werewolf authors but there is a certain cliche that has stereotyped YA when it’s so much more. I retaliated by making mention of John Green and the intelligent and witty story of “The Fault in Our Stars”. Brought the cover over and one girls eyes sparkled and said, “OooOoo”. I explained how YA has so many different sub-genres within it, that there is a lot of something for everyone out there! I also mentioned how we were developing a Teen Book Festival in the near future, so for them to check out some books.


IMG_20131008_144133

I am on a mission now! Convert young adults to get excited about reading, period (doesn’t matter what genre, at least they’re reading…well, almost any genre “back off 50 Shades!” lol) and then introduce the wide variety world of YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE!

READING!

Last night I determined myself to forget sleep, channel my old nocturnal habits and finish reading the last 200 pages of the book I’ve been trying to finish forever now. I missed those late night book binges. I finished at 3:30am. I felt full and satisfied, ready for another. The next two days I have off so this was not a problem. I’m teetering on which of my books to partake in next. I have a slight idea which, so I’ll let you all know.

I finished Defiance by the lovely and hilarious C.J. Redwine.

“RACHEL AND LOGAN LOVE EACH OTHER!”

I was very happy by the end of the book and curious to know what happens next which is always a good sign. I need to purchase the second book of the series, Deception. I need to purchase many second books of series. I have finished a few firsts and need their proceeding counterpart, asap!

Today I will be visiting my niece who finally received my birthday gift she’s been waiting for since May. BEYOND TWO SOULS game that I placed on pre-order for her! So I’ll be spending the next two days off passing by and watching her play as well as writing!


Beyond-Two-Souls-Wallpaper-HD
2496288-beyond-two-souls_2013_06-11-13_020

Ok, seriously. The graphics in this game are freakin amazing! (starring Ellen Page, William Dafoe)

I went to my first Writers Critique Group with a SCBWI (Society of Childrens Book Writers and Illustrators…I have botched that acronym a ba-zillion times). I was so nervous and intimidated. They were all really nice and funny people. They quickly put my at ease…until some read their chapters that is. I’m waiting for the second or third meeting to read my stuff. I’m nervous about it and need to revise my first couple chapters before taking it over to them. In the end, even if they rip it to shreds, its going to make me a better writer and I have to see it that way and not allow it to discourage me.

So I continue on this journey, while taking you all along, kind of.

TODAYS BOOK SHIMMY WEDNESDAY! Tea Time with team Epic Reads!

I havent been able to tune in for a couple of weeks now so I’m excited to watch the bookish fun today at 3:45pm EST.

Hope you all are having a great week, month, so far!

<3, Des

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page